Sushi 2

Hey guys, I’m here with an update. I fleshed out the final composition and line work (though it will not be visible in the final) and put a grayscale beneath it to show value.  This project will be a fun challenge. All that’s left is to paint. While “simple” in terms of it being only four components the trick is painting four very distinct and different textures while still making it look appetizing; The liquid soy sauce, the smooth slightly grainy tuna on top, the seaweed black wrap around the middle, and the evil rice in the middle.

It’ll be done via a combination of vector and subtle digital painting, a combo I’ve not done before.   Google “nigiri sushi” if you need or want a color and visual reference.

Let me know what you think.
Cheers, Matt C.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sushi 2

  1. Not a sushi eater myself, but yeah, I’d totally recognize this as some kind of sushi thing. Can’t wait to see it in color!

  2. I like this a lot. My only critique is that you may want to put the name Kabuto on the sides as well.

  3. Ya you just reminded me I want sushi. Damn you. I agree with adding Kabuto on sides will help.

  4. The name has to go on the sides. It’s a rolling “billboard.” Looking very good, Mac.

Leave a Reply

