chaoctopus Al

So since the steroid engorged octopus thing didn’t seem to be well received, I tried to make it look like he was pulling himself out of the shape as I said in my earlier post. This is how it turned out. Yeah, I know! So then I scrapped the whole thing, added some perspective and this is it know. Still needs some tweeks but I am happy with it so far. I am going add the Redwings logo in the background and pull it back using opacity and then add some texture. As far as colors go, I am thinking I am going to keep Al his original colors and use the red and white scheme for the background. (subject to sudden change)

This is the one I am going with

.

About ursinesophisto

I get bored!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to chaoctopus Al

  1. lucybelles says:

    I like it. I don’t like it as well as the other one but … if the other one wasn’t well-received all the way around then…

  2. lucybelles says:

    wait- I didn’t see the last one- he def looks mean but is a compromise- now, how are you working in the sport or logo? I love your style!

  3. No worries. Yeah, I am going to push the logo into the background but it will be visible for sure.

  4. Also for the record the diamond shaped frame will be thicker then this one. I want it thick enough to write Detroit Redwings on it. Some of the letters will be obscured by the tentacles but it will still be recognizable. Please for more input from anyone and everyone.

  5. lizardman32 says:

    I like how he’s choking the viewer.

  6. ionhelen says:

    Great job adding the perspective! Really kicks the drama of it. The image is very iconic. I think it might be more intimidating if he was looking at the viewer though.

  7. Yes, yes, yes. Thicker frame. Look at the viewer. Logo. Name. Great.

    Now. How about the tentacle breaking the stick and a couple of others holding something. Maybe the net. A glove or helmet from another team. (Chicago. That’s their arch rival.)

    Color this baby well and it’s a hit.

    • Thanks Rainey! I was planning on having him breaking the stick already but I do need to figure out what else he is holding. He also has one tentacle that is hidden behind him so maybe if I bring it up behind his head, not directly, that can be the other one holding something?

  8. janeysoeem says:

    What if you had another tentacle coming towards the viewer instead of just that one?

    • I did some roughs and felt as though the balance of the composition should be more of an unbalanced one. I typically go for the perfectly balanced tattoo-ish comps but it detracts from the urgent feel of him coming for you.

Leave a Reply

